Farewell to my Students

It’s the end of the school year here in the UK and I’ve taken the last of my blogging classes with my little groups of Year 4’s, 5’s and 6’s. What I haven’t mentioned before is that I also started an after-school club a while back, for an hour every Friday – so that’s now come to an end too.  Thursday was the last opportunity to see all my kids and so I made the most of it  – spending time chatting, out on the playing field at lunchtime, saying cheerio.  I shall miss them all and I think some of them will miss me too. One little sausage got quite upset when I told her I wouldn’t be back. I tried to console her and asked her to think about things she is grateful for and to perhaps blog about them. This is the result, written today, Sunday: “I am Grateful For…” with, first on the list, “I am grateful for Mr.Elsmore and his teaching because without him I wouldn’t know how to blog” That makes me very happy!

Some children asked where I was going. I told them India, Nepal or maybe Cambodia. They wondered how I could afford to do that (kids can be so wonderfully direct!) When I told them my plan to rent out my house I could see the cogs whirring as they made sense of it. They were quite intrigued.

In the afternoon I stayed for the Key Stage 2 “Performance” for parents, with stringed instruments and songs. All of the children were involved with playing something – an achievement which the school is rightly proud of. The programme ended with one of those songs which just grows and grows and tugs at the old heart strings. And I had done so well… until that point. Oh well, only human after all!

0376 0378

PS, I should point out that it will be a few months before I set out on my travels – I have to get my house into a rentable state first!
8 comments

  1. Diana

    A beautiful post, Clive. I love the hand drawn Skype screen. Clearly you have made an impact. Kudos. Glad to See theat Cambodia is on the list, even if it’s just a “maybe”. πŸ™‚

    • CliveSir

      Thanks, Diana. I enjoyed my time with those kids hugely. Yes, the hand-drawn Skype screen is great, isn’t it? It folded out, just like the little netbooks they were using.
      Ah, Cambodia! I really need to do my homework about where I might be needed, how I could live, visas and so on. The visa limitations may mean I end up spending time at each place in turn πŸ™‚

  2. Jude

    I know why God made you to come to this world. That is he loves you so much. Let me say Something about you Clive…. If someone ask me to write about you an essay, then I will write “Clive SIr is Clive Sir” ! Love you a lot. yours Jude.

    • CliveSir

      Thank you, Katrina πŸ™‚ I certainly need lots of luck with getting my house ready – I always seem to manage to underestimate how much time these things need!

  3. Josette

    What a beautiful post Clive. πŸ™‚ Yes, only human indeed. I had a moment like that last Friday as I said goodbye to my group of teachers.

    I left a comment for Kaitlin. I was so touched to see her expressing gratitude in this way. Thank you so much for sharing that with us. I’m in awe of how gratitude is contagious. You are a wonderful teacher. πŸ™‚

    I wish you the best on your journey! May you be safe, happy and peaceful.

    Josette

    • CliveSir

      Well, of course, the “I am grateful for…” idea was a good one as it came from you, Josette πŸ™‚

      Yes, saying goodbye is always so hard, isn’t it? Especially once you’ve built connections and are getting to know the characters involved. I wonder if you will blog about your experiences…

      Thank you for leaving a comment here and especially on little Kaitlin’s blog – I know she will be delighted!

      Clive

Leave a Reply

