House Project at Five Weeks

Roughly five weeks ago I moved into my new house and started to renovate it. All my spare time is going into the project and I’m very aware that time is passing and I haven’t reported on how it’s going. Thing is, it takes me quite an effort to sit down and come up with sensible words so I’ve been putting it off. But I want to record and share this process so, as they say in Sri Lanka, “what to do?” I decided to challenge myself by attempting a video blog for a change and here’s the first installment. It may be the first of several or a one-off, time will tell. Recorded in two chunks, in one take, and no editing (so it’s rough!)


I lost count of how many times I said “it’s going to have to go!”

4 comments

  1. Jude

    Clive I think I have told this = β€œwhat to do?”, The house is very beautiful Clive and I know this was one of your dream. I wish that you will enjoy living in the beautiful house. I like the Garden very much too.

    • CliveSir

      Hi Jude, I think it was your mother, actually. With you as her son she was always saying “what to do?” πŸ˜‰
      No, actually, I’m not sure who first told me, but it does seem a very common expression in Sri Lanka.
      I’m glad you like the house – I think it will be a great place, eventually! The garden has been quite surprising with lots of colour and scent, and I like its ‘wildness’ a lot. It’s very peaceful.
      Thanks for dropping by πŸ™‚

  2. Michael

    Hi sir πŸ™‚ a rare comment, but thought I’d drop you a line …

    I like the video blogs – there were a few good laughs πŸ™‚ having seen the before pics, I don’t recognise the place! I like the carpet, so hope you keep that … The pilesof rubbish and spouse remind me of when I helped convert our old garage from a two roomed work area back into a garage. The dust, rubbish … Well, it got everywhere …

    Please take care, and do try to do everything at once. We want you to enjoy the end result, as hale and hearty as possible (ie without a shot back please) πŸ™‚

    Looking forward to hopefully visiting one day and seeing the end result in person πŸ™‚

    Michael

    • CliveSir

      Thanks Michael. Bring a paint scraper when you visit πŸ™‚
      Yep, that dust!!! I even shut the windows, sealed up the door, and went for it… and the blessed dust STILL got everywhere! This time it must have been through the gaps in the floorboards… you just can’t win! Worst is when you find it all over your laptop 😦
      No, I’m trying not to go too mad. Certainly don’t want a knackered back again! It’s all a bit of a reality check.
      Cheers, Clive

Leave a Reply

