April Update

…for want of a better title.

I wrote back in January (January!) that I’d decided to postpone my return to Asia by six months to find and buy a house.  Since then, life has been manic!

I’ll cut to the chase – everyone knows how time-consuming and stress-inducing this process is and we all have our own personal tales – but I’ve found a place, had my offer accepted, and in a week it should become mine!

It needs a lot of work. Nothing structural, but lots of repairs, modernising and decorating. It needs a completely new heating system. It needs much, if not total, rewiring. And the carpets, decorations and furnishings are all out of the 1950’s – they’ve got to go. But I like the place, it’s got a homely feel; it’s obviously been loved.

frontIt’s nothing fancy – just a very solid, plain-looking, mid-terraced, ex-council house. It has three bedrooms, all a reasonable size, so potentially three lodgers. It’s in a decent location and looks out onto a big green at the front. The bathroom is titchy so that’ll be a bit tricky, but there’s a downstairs toilet albeit without a hand basin (hmm!).  There’s a separate small sitting room which I can make mine. The kitchen is small too but it’s off a good-sized lounge – so there’s potential for making a lounge-diner-kitchen area. It’s got a larder! I love larders! It all needs ripping out and re-fitting, of course, but it could be good. The garden is a manageable size and I understand there’s a 15yo lad next-door who might just be looking for some pocket-money for grass-cutting and tidying-up duties.  There’s a greenhouse with all the panes intact, and two brick stores – perfect for bicycles, a tumble drier and chest freezer. There are lots of problems but they all have solutions.

I spent a couple of hours there the other day, without the estate-agents or owner hovering over me. I explored the nooks and crannies and got to know it better. Till then I’d had half a mind to pull out but I left feeling a lot happier that it was the right thing to do.

4 comments

  1. mgraffin

    Hey mate. I’m sure you’ve made a decision that works for you.

    Maybe one day I’ll be able to drop by for a cup of coffee, hmm? πŸ™‚

    Regards,

    Michael

    Michael Graffin Relief Teacher * Global Classroom Co-Founder* *iEARN Australia Manager* *Scootle Community Teacher Champion

    * My profiles: [image: about.me] [image: LinkedIn] [image: Twitter] [image: WordPress] [image: SlideShare] My blog: Struggling to Teach Creative Commons Get a signature like this. CLICK HERE.

      • Michael Graffin (@mgraffin)

        Yeah, I don’t know yet. I’m relying on you for on-the-ground info about life as a volunteer teacher in Nepal. It will be quite a significant step when I do take the plunge, and it would mean a great deal to me to have a close friend there to share it with πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

