U2 – Unknown Caller

I’m not the world’s biggest fan of the band U2. They’ve had their moments in the past, for me, but in recent years they seem to have been churning out the same old stuff: variations on themes and becoming a bit… umm, plasticky.  When I heard their album No Line on the Horizon, 2009, I thought my beliefs validated, and I remember telling others not to bother. I’ve barely listened to it in the last three years but this morning I gave it another go, and BOY, how could I have missed this GEM of a song!  Unknown Caller – I’ve played it over and over and it just keeps getting BIGGER!!!  See what you think. Give it a fair trial and play it a few times. It grows and GROWS! I’ll bet this sounds fantastic live. Be warned, watch your ear drums! Superb stuff, especially the guitar playing by The Edge:

U2’s 360° Tour, Live at The Rose Bowl, Pasadena, California, 2009

Sunshine, sunshine

Sunshine, sunshine

Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh-oh

I was lost
between the midnight and the dawning
In a place of no consequence or company
3:33 when the numbers fell off the clock face
Speed dialling with no signal at all

Go, shout it out, rise up
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh-oh
Escape yourself, and gravity
Hear me, cease to speak, that I may speak
Shush now
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh-oh
Force quit, and move to trash

I was right there at the top of the bottom
On the edge of the known universe where I wanted to be
I had driven to the scene of the accident
And I sat there waiting for me

Restart and re-boot yourself
You’re free to go
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh-oh
Shout for joy, if you get the chance
Password, you, enter here, right now
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh-oh
You know your name so punch it in
Hear me, cease to speak, that I may speak
Shush now
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh
Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh-oh
Then don’t move, or say a thing

+++++++++++++++++++++

And a surprisingly good cover by MiniedgeU2 (feat. Ernie) 🙂

4 comments

  1. Vicky Loras

    Hi Clive!

    To tell you the truth, I’m on the same wavelength – was never a big fan of U2 for the same reasons as you…plus Bono seems to get a bit on my nerves – philanthropy on the one hand, dinners with George W. on the other?!?! Anyway!

    I gave them a chance! This song is GREAT!!! Thanks for posting it.

    Best wishes,
    Vicky

    • Clive @CliveSir

      Hi Vicky, Thanks for dropping by and commenting!
      I know you like your music so wondered what you’d make of it – glad it hit the spot for you too, at least auditorily!
      Take it easy,
      Clive

  2. mgraffin

    Sir, I am DISAPPOINTED IN YOU!! How could u knock my beloved U2?? 🙂

    Streets with no name, sunday bloody sunday, new years day, … There are SO many wonderful, though provoking songs .. This one is a new one however, so will hop off my soapbox, and investigate!

    • Clive @CliveSir

      LOL! Well, Michael, those are quite old pieces! Perhaps I’m doing U2 an injustice – I’d better give No Line and other recent stuff another listen!
      So have you had a chance to listen to this track and what d’you think? Crank the volume and get out your air guitar!

Leave a Reply

