Scotland

These days, sharing longer than a handful of hours with my grown-up children is a rare treat (for me, at least!) and so being able to spend a whole ten days with my daughter is something precious which I shall treasure forever.

We decided to fly from Heathrow to Edinburgh and to have four days there before travelling up to North East Scotland, my birthplace, then returning for two more days in Edinburgh, taking in the T in the Park music festival en route. Loved it!!

The city, from Holyrood Park

Foxgloves on Arthur’s Seat, Edinburgh

Edinburgh Castle (enveloped in mist), from Calton Hill

Yang Guang at Edinburgh Zoo

The farm where I spent the first 12 years of my life. Near Keith, Banffshire. A nostalgic visit for me – I hadn’t been here in 45 years….

House

Buildings

Cullen beach – our seaside, which we visited once or twice a year

A “Bonnie Lassie”

Snow Patrol playing “T In The Park” festival

7 comments

    • clivesir

      They are a great band! The video didn’t do them justice but they are very good live. They were playing near Perth, Scotland – maybe they’ll come to Perth, Oz, one day… fingers crossed, eh?!

    • clivesir

      Thanks Genny. Yes, you’re right, it was great fun 🙂 It was actually drier than it appears in the photos, especially up in Moray where it was actually hot! I am really attached to the native Scots flowers, especially harebells and wild primroses. And the dog roses, thrift, marsh marigolds, marsh orchids, bog violets and… I could go on! And the foxgloves too, of course! Love them. The Pentlands? Have you been visiting Edinburgh too? I thought you were back in Shetland!

  1. Genevieve White (@ShetlandESOL)

    Not yet! I have work lined up in Edinburgh for the next few weeks, and will head home after that. You know your flowers! We have beautiful wild flowers in Shetland which goes some way to making up for the lack of trees!

Leave a Reply

