CELTA – Pass

I’m happy to say that I’ve passed!

My grade is “Pass”. I did wonder if I might just possibly squeeze into the “Pass B” category but no, it wasn’t to be. In the UK, roughly 70% of passes are in my band so I shouldn’t be too surprised or disappointed.

The overall comment was:

“Clive has worked consistently well throughout the course. His planning is excellent and he puts a lot of time and effort into preparing plans and materials. He has good classroom management and uses a variety of techniques to make the learning successful. He delivers student-centred lessons and demonstrates tasks well with good visual support. He needs to continue to monitor his pace and to ensure for as much student-to-student interaction as possible. He will need some guidance to help him develop and broaden his range of skills as a teacher in post.”

– I think that’s fair enough. I know that I have plenty of room for improvement and I hope some will come with future classroom experience. It was a good course, well worth doing, and I’m sure that I’ve learned many techniques which will prove useful. That, after all, was my main purpose!

8 comments

    • clivesir

      That means a lot, coming from you, Greta! Thank you for your support and all the encouragement along the way. And yes, actually, I did enjoy the course πŸ™‚

  1. The Spideron

    Well done! I’m sure you’ll agree that the CELTA is something of an emotional roller-coaster: at times energising and enervating. But you got through it and passed, so you have every reason to feel proud of yourself. What’s next on the agenda?

    • Clive

      Thank you, Spideron. Wish you’d used your real name but I guess you have your reasons πŸ™‚ I agree, the CELTA course is quite the rollercoaster. As for what’s next, well, I’m considering more volunteering, but this time in Nepal or Cambodia. I need to do a bit of groundwork before I decide. That’s for some time in 2013, I reckon. Between now and then I may try to see if I get to help out in a primary school in the UK. Maybe some of the teaching tricks of the trade will rub off on me. Sorry, unlike you, no dreams of west coast USA for me.
      By the way, you have an interesting and very well-written blog, Sir. I look forward to reading more!

  2. KayC

    Clive, I only just chanced upon your blog and I must say that I thoroughly enjoyed and really appreciate your delightfully chronicled insight on the course! Well done on passing – I am sure you would make a fantastic teacher πŸ™‚ I am due to start my CELTA course in a week’s time and I feel much more at ease now that I’ve read about your journey. Thank you and very best wishes in all you set out to achieve professionally and otherwise.

    KayC

    • CliveSir

      Hi KayC, thanks for reading and commenting! I’m really chuffed that you enjoyed my little reports πŸ™‚ It all seems so long ago now… but some of the techniques have stuck with me. I need to put it all into practice soon to reinforce and build on what I learned. What is your motivation for doing the CELTA? Working abroad perhaps? Good luck with the course!

Leave a Reply

