CELTA Week 17, evening 32

Evening 32, Tues 2012-05-22

This was a really good evening for me! I found both topics interesting and potentially very useful for the future – I could see their purpose!

First up was Using Dictionaries. I suppose I’ve never sat down and really examined just what a good learner’s dictionary contains. There are definitely some skills to be mastered. OneStopEnglish.com has some good dictionary skills resources.  see example

Next up was a session on five-minute warmers and fillers. These would be especially useful in low resource situations, requiring virtually no materials.

Both of these lessons worked well for me. I was interested and it helped that there was a level playing field for all trainees. I didn’t feel overwhelmed or inferior to those trainees who clearly have lots of experience and knowledge in the English Language field. There is quite a disparity between CELTA trainees and it can sometimes feel that those most able set the pace or the standard, while the rest of us, or at least I, flounder.

Leave a Reply

