Goodbye Facebook

Goodbye Facebook and good riddance. I’ve been free of you for two months now and I’m glad to see the back of you. Not that I ever was really addicted to you – I never became one of those people constantly clicking and friending and liking and sharing everyday banalities. I didn’t spend much time with you. It’s just the way you hooked me, reeled me in, whacked me about the head, abused me and wouldn’t let go: that’s what I hated.

I only really started with you because of my daughter. She suggested I join as a convenient way of keeping up with her news and, of course, I then had to ‘friend’ my son. Perhaps if I’d stopped there you might’ve survived. But that’s how it starts. My workplace decided to have a Facebook page so I had to follow that. Then friends asked, and then friends of friends – how could I refuse? It would’ve been rude, right? And besides, it was the only way I would hear their news!

BUT, the news was trivial. So you’ve got a headache? Don’t tell me, deal with it! Your neighbour’s dog died? How sad! Why do I need to know? And you’re not telling me meaningful stuff – you’re hardly going to tell me you hate your job, or your boyfriend is getting tedious, are you? Are you?

I hate the dependency – the feeling that you’re trapped and can’t get free. Of course, that’s what makes Facebook so successful. Wish I’d thought of that one!

And the way that others post photos of  me without me knowing or being asked.

And I could never figure who could see what parts of my profile. Just how much of it was totally public I’ll never know – I’ll never know because now I’m FREE!!

And then there were all the security breaches and scams and leaking of personal data. Every day the security experts would be coming up with some new scare story… and they don’t just make this stuff up! Mark Zuckerberg’s stance on privacy is well known: it’s overrated. Really? Shame that birth dates, maiden names and so on, are often the very challenges you’ll find on various other private accounts.

And Zuckerberg himself? What I hate is the way that the super rich cream their billions from the public and then when they give a bit away they’re called saints. They are not the saints of this world. The folk that deserve our praise are those constantly, selflessly working to make world a better place. Like teachers, health workers, care workers and aid workers. They don’t want our praise – their reward is in their success though perhaps a little appreciation wouldn’t go amiss. But what happens? They’re dumped on, abused, taken advantage of, and pushed to the limits of endurance. Then again, there is no such thing as selfishness or pure altruism, but the end result is a better world. For that, I respect and thank them.

When these super rich donate their millions they just distort nature. They only give to what they believe in – but is it what’s really needed? Take Toms Shoes, for example… err, no, don’t get me started!

There are plenty of other reasons to dislike Facebook – not least its complexity, counter-intuitiveness and ugliness. And the way it’s needed before some services will let you subscribe… and… and… and…

That’s enough. There are enough reasons. I’ve voted with my feet. Goodbye!

Leave a Reply

