CELTA Week 9, evening 17

Evening 17 (Tuesday 2012-03-13)

1. Narrative Tenses (60min)

This was a model lesson which led to the analysis of the tenses used in a piece of text (a 2-para story or narrative). The tutor ran the lesson as if we were the students and, afterwards, we looked back at the overall shape of the lesson to determine the stages.

1 Lead in to topic – broad: In pairs, what types of holidays are there?
2 Pre-teach vocab: Elicit a few troublesome-looking words.
3 Pre-reading prediction (aim was diagnostic: to see how much students know): Put a few words on WB then in pairs invent a story using all words.
4 Reading and dictation (aim to check punctuation and spelling): Put two copies of story outside classroom. One student of pair goes out, reads a bit, returns, and dictates to other. Then swap until whole story is complete.
5 Check. Focus on accuracy. Students check what they’ve written against handout.
6 Focus on Meaning: check story against what was predicted earlier.
7 Focus on Form: analyse grammar.
8 Controlled Practice (didn’t do). With any corrections do concept checking.

Stage 4 was a “running dictation” technique. I didn’t enjoy it because I couldn’t see the point of memorising verbatim.

2. Return of Written Assignments (20min)

I had my  first Written Assignment returned this evening. This is the one I was fed up with because I felt I didn’t understand the requirements. I’m relieved to say that I passed and got some really encouraging feedback. I’m chuffed and very relieved! I also received a progress report in similar tones. Phew!

3. Teaching Preparation (30min)

I won’t be teaching next Thursday, or the Thursday after, which is great as I can use the evenings/weekend for the next Written Assignment rather than  preparing for the next teaching practice. So, while the tutor went over the plans of those that will be teaching, those that won’t be got a break.

4. Error Correction (60min)

When pointing out errors, there are no hard and fast rules on what to say, how to say it and when to say it. In general, students’ errors are more likely to be pointed out in whatever is the focus of the lesson. We discussed error identification and categorisation – grammar, pronunciation, meaning and appropriacy,the different ways you might correct or indicate errors, and whether or not you should point errors out. I think my biggest difficulty would be in explaining the grammar of mistakes and corrections…

There was a webinar a few days ago (on 3rd March) on Error Correction: Recording – itdi.adobeconnect.com/p99xztywtso/. It was organised  by iTDi which is a relatively new collaboration between some of the bigger names in online ELT : http://itdi.pro/webinar.html

6 comments

  1. rdw3

    Congrats! I got my Assignment 1 back this week. Have to resubmit with some corrections to the phonemes area of the Vocabulary Analysis.

    Submitting Assignment 2 tomorrow.

  2. clivesir

    Hi Roger, apparently it’s very common to have to resubmit. I’m sure you’ll crack it next time if they’ve told you what they’re looking for. And Good luck with Assignment 2! This 4wk course of yours is seriously intensive – I know I couldn’t do it. Respect! I guess it’s two weeks down for you now – half way there. You’ve overtaken me already 🙂

    • clivesir

      Thanks Edna. Yes, I’m good at grumbling! I guess I _am_ quite enjoying doing the course. I do find it’s quite a challenge but it’s satisfying that I’m still swimming, not sinking 🙂

Leave a Reply

