Bedsit

After two-and-a-half years in Asia I returned to the UK and have been living in this bedsit for five months. The room’s 8ft x 8ft exactly – I just measured – or 2m44 square if you prefer. It’s small. A swung cat would have serious head injuries.

It’s in a semi-detached family house – a couple in their 60’s and a 20 year-old son. They’re friendly and we get along just fine but I spend most of my time alone in this room.

I survive here: it’s cheap, which has helped my finances, but I can’t say it has helped my mental state. It’s a base to start from. A little sanctuary. Or a prison cell. Survival is not enough though; I need more.

Leave a Reply

